Posted by: wajahatabbas | March 12, 2012

Open with Explorer. This control is currently disabled — SharePoint Document library


All of a sudden you realized that you cant able to use the open with explorer option with SharePoint document library.

That is you found out that “open with explorer sharepoint 2010 greyed out”

Open with explorer means opening the document library in a windows explorer format.

This what happens with me today while running a demo at one client at Qatar. This was working before, but today i was not able to open the explorer thing, and even office client integration was not working.

There could be couple of reason for it, like some setting required on central administration or some settings as 14 hive folder (control/ templates), but for me it was nothing just the browser 32 bit and 64 bit issue.

I opened the 64 bit IE, and tried to open it from there, which doesn’t allow us to open the windows explorer view from the 64 bit browser.

As it was a demo machine, so we havent applied Updated CU on that. As i heard that this issue has been resolved by CU

Responses

  1. did you try june 2011 Cummulative Update..

  2. Nopes. I havent applied.

    You are right, that it will be solved by that CU

  3. this also happen due to web dev not presented on Server. To enable the web dev,one’s need to install the desktop experience on to the server.

    Regards,

    Shakir Majeed Khan
    http://www.shakirmajeed.com

  4. Same for me ! it’s so bad to see a expensive solution like sharepoint be inadapted to a good customer use !

    and most of my clients can’t use IE properly (because they use mac) or just prefer a browser like chrome :s

    On my computer it was working before and suddendly not :s

    If you find a solution, i’m interested 😉

  5. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog discusses
    a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  6. Good day very nice blog!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?
    I am satisfied to find so many useful info right here within the put up, we need develop more strategies in this regard, thank you for
    sharing. . . . . .

  7. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for info approximately this subject for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far.

    However, what about the conclusion? Are you certain in
    regards to the supply?

  8. I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  9. I used to be suggested this website through
    my cousin. I’m now not sure whether or not this put up is written through him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.
    You are incredible! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

